Thirties, the new album from Jill Andrews


About the new album:

  • Produced by Jill Andrews and Lucas Morton

  • …with a little musical help from her friends Ian Fitchuk, Daniel Tashian, Peter Groenwald, Lucas Morton, Tyler Burkham and Todd Lombardo.

  • 13 tracks

  • Songs co-written with: Ian Fitchuk, Natalie Hemby, Trent Dabbs, Dustin Christiansen, Luke Dick, Peter Groenwald, and more.

  • Recorded at Smoakstack in Nashville, TN

More about Jill Andrews:

Press Quotes

"Jill Andrews drives a song with vocals of someone you feel like you can trust." 
-American Songwriter 

"The way that Andrews sings about love and the way she looks at love, it must be love. The beautiful and pained songs that she writes are the kinds of episodes that you have as a student. She is a scientist of them, turning them over and around, figuring out where the bottom dropped out and what's going to happen next." 
-Sean Moeller, Daytrotter 

"The War Inside varies from sweet and solemn to strong and undefeated, telling her story while resonating with listeners’ own turmoils. It’s nearly impossible to not nod along to Andrews’ ballads, feeling oddly close to her and to yourself." 
-Paste Magazine on 2015’s The War Inside

"The War Inside album is full of personal, intimate songs about dealing with loss, hardship, and hope through it all." 
-Glamour Magazine on 2015’s The War Inside

"True to its Florence-esque melodrama, 'Get Up, Get On' has served as the inspiration for a lavish, beautifully realized video." 
-PopMatters on 2015’s The War Inside

"Jill Andrews is one of the strongest young female songwriters around."
-Paste Magazine (2011) 

"The Mirror is a portrait of emotional endurance, and as such is a promise that Jill Andrews is at the beginning of a wonderful and long-abiding career." 
-American Songwriter on 2011's The Mirror 


  • 13 million Spotify streams on Jill Andrews’ music in 2018

  • Released a full length album as one half of folk duo Hush Kids in 2018

  • 1.5 million Spotify streams on Hush Kids’ music in 2018

  • "Sea of Love" co-written and performed with Langhorne Slim, reached 13 million+ streams on Spotify

  • Opened on tour for The Avett Brothers, Drew Holcomb & The Neighbors, Sean Watkins and HONEYHONEY

  • Songs placed in numerous TV & Films including Grey's Anatomy, the theme song for Wynonna Earp, Nashville, Beauty & The Beast, American Idol, Hart Of Dixie, The Vineyard, Drop Dead Diva, Mistresses and the film Me, Him, Her (Release Date: 2015)

  • Years of touring history from coast-to-coast, including appearances at Forecastle, Newport Folk Festival, Cayamo, Bonnaroo, Pickathon, Bristol Rhythm & Roots, The Kennedy Center, Red Rocks, Rhythm and Blooms, Fillmore West, House of Blues Chicago, High Sierra Festival and more

  • Released 3 full-length albums as one half of alt-country duo the everybodyfields as well as 1 EP and 2 Full-Length as a solo artist


A native of East Tennessee, Jill Andrews kicked off her songwriting career as co-founder of the Everybodyfields, a band whose mix of Southern genres — folk, country, bluegrass — and male-female vocals helped pave the way for future groups like the Civil Wars. It earned the Everybodyfields a wide fan-base too, as well as appearances at Bonnaroo, the Kennedy Center, and a cross-country tour with the Avett Brothers. After three albums, Andrews left that band and launched a solo career, starting with a self-titled EP and a full-length record, The Mirror, that built something bigger and broader on top of her Americana roots.

On her newest solo record, The War Inside, Jill Andrews shines a light on her own struggles and successes, tying the songs together with a new sound that mixes her folk background with a wider set of influences. 

“It was a time filled with many new and exciting beginnings, as well as some deep personal loss," says Andrews, who wrote the album after relocating to Nashville, TN. "The album focuses in on some particular moments of triumph, hardship, and hope.”

While working on The War Inside, Jill signed a publishing deal with Big Yellow Dog Music and began landing songs in multiple TV shows and movies, including Grey's AnatomyNashville, American Idol, Hart of Dixie, and Me, Him, Her (2015) etc.... One of her songs, “Joy Parade,” also appeared in The Music of Nashville: Season 2, Volume 2, a TV soundtrack that rose to number 13 on the Billboard 200. But Andrews made sure to save the best songs for her own record.

“When I set out to make this album," she explains, "I wanted it to feel like me -- but me moving, me progressing. I wanted to stretch my legs a bit. My producer and I spent a lot of time in the studio experimenting with different sounds and different feels to really bring the songs to life."

The War Inside reaches into the pop and indie rock world, while still tipping its hat to Andrews' Appalachian roots. Longtime friend Seth Avett even makes an appearance, singing a duet with Andrews on "I'm so in Love with You." These songs feel present, and they're delivered the way Andrews always delivers them: with raw emotion that is as real to her as it is to the listener. It's her best album yet, not to mention proof that this songwriter deserves the strong fan-base she began earning more than 10 years ago.

-Written by Andrew Leahey


  • Grey’s Anatomy

  • Nashville

  • Beauty & The Beast

  • Wynonna Earp

  • Hart of Dixie

  • The Vineyard

  • Teen Wolf

  • American Idol promo

  • Mob Wives

“Total Eclipse of the Heart” on Grey’s Anatomy

“Rust or Gold” on Grey’s Anatomy

Syfy’s Wynonna Earp Theme Song “Tell That Devil”

“The End of Everything” on Teen Wolf